Week 12 – I persist until I succeed

The past weeks have been the most challenging for me and I am so proud of myself that I have, not once, thought of giving up.  I have drawn the line in the sand for myself.  I know that completing the MKMM course is like a lifeline that has been thrown to me so, I persist until I succeed!

Last week, I wasn’t well and although I managed to do the MKMMA exercises in the morning, I missed the lunch and night exercises.  I felt absolutely terrible.  I felt as though I had let myself down.  It was a great lessone for me because now I know that I can’t let this go….it is my future and I will be letting down the Gal In The Glass if I do not complete the MKMMA course.  Feeling guilty, making excuses and walking away are not options for me any more.  I persist until I succeed.

I love the paragraph in Scroll 3 which says, “I was not delivered unto this world in defeat, nor does failure course in my veins.  I am not a sheep, waiting to be prodded by my shepherd.  I am a lion and I refuse to talk, to walk, to sleep with the sheep……The slaughterhouse of failure is not my destiny.”

So powerful!  The language of the Greatest Salesman is descriptive and emotive….I love it.  Reading this paragraph made me realise that  I no longer fit in with the herd.  There is an wonderous life ahead for me for I am a lion!  I persist until I succeed. I stand out from the crowd and am a great leader.

I have found a way that I am able to create emotion whenever I am reading The Greatest Salesman and my DMP.  Because Og Mandino’s language is so powerful and descriptive, I read it as though I am rehearsing for a Shakespearean play.  I have to inject emotions into the words as I want my performance is believable to the audience and also, to myself.  Before I found this, my reading was just repetition….something I was obligated to do.  I would try to get it over and done with as quickly as possible so I kept my promise to myself.  Now I find it is fun and much more simple, to find the emotions to go with the words by imagining I am a famous actor with a duty to my audience.

.

Standard

7 thoughts on “Week 12 – I persist until I succeed

  1. Good for you Colleen! I have also been physically challenged recently with a severe case of the flu. I had never had the flu before and didn’t realize how debilitating it can be. I absolutely could not do ANYTHING but lay on the couch. I didn’t even eat… Did I feel bad about not doing all the MKMMA assignments…sure of course I felt bad about not being able to do anything!! Bottom line, life happens and it’s important to love ourselves through it all…just pick back up as soon as possible and persist!! We will make it…looking forward to seeing you at the graduation!! Meanwhile, Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. Caryn Elizabeth says:

    Coleen, This week I was not my best physically. I identify with you. I also loved Og’s words “I am a lion and I refuse to talk, to walk, to sleep with the sheep……The slaughterhouse of failure is not my destiny.” I carried them to the next scoll. I’m so glad you are want to bless your gal in the glass. Great content. Just love your spirit! So special! You are unique and a grand mariner on your way to the other side of the sea! You go girl! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Colleen–hang in there. Do your best!!! We are on this journey together and you have come so far. I hope that you have overcome your illness. We all get ill from time to time. It’s jus a bump in the road. Use the bump to gather extra momentum. 🙂 I know, it’s not that easy. No one said easy but for one i know that I am tasting some of the rewards already in small ways. Keep believing and hang in there. We are here with you and for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

