Week 15 – The power of words

As a teacher, I have always understood the power of language. Our words can be used to hurt or to heal and we must be careful of the words we choose when speaking to others and ourselves (we all know that by now). We are all very aware, after participating in MKMMA, of the power of the words said to us as children. Our Blueprints are the collection of experiences throughout our lives and with those experiences have come the words people have used to “guide” us. Most of these people have been well meaning….have said things to try to keep us safe in one way or another. Many have no idea of the impact their words and actions have had on us throughout our lives. They can’t possibly have an understanding of how, what they have said has contributed to shaping the thoughts we have as adults. This is not said to blame…we are responsible for our own thought and we know we can control and change those thoughts but as responsible adults, we need to be aware of the subliminal messages we send to others, through our choice of words.
Much of the influences in our lives are subliminal. Again, as a teacher, I was very aware of the impact photographs, videos, stories and articles have had on how we think about ourselves and others. Our minds have been manipulated by the media since its inception and most of us have no idea how it has happened or even that it is still happening. Many of us would be offended to think that we are the product of manipulation by the media.
I love reading “The Greatest Salesman in the World,” it is one of the most powerful books I have ever read. I do feel, however, that we should be aware of the gender bias of the book and ensure we women change the language to include ourselves. It was written in a time that was dominated by men and men were, in the main, the breadwinners.
Times have changed. We all know that women participate in every facet of life now…..or do we? I have looked for motivational videos to show at training sessions. I love a good motivational video….usually leaves me in tears! I would challenge anyone to find many videos that do not have a gender bias towards men. It’s as though there are not any powerful, successful women in our societies. Please don’t misunderstand me, I don’t want to show videos that are biased towards women either, but it is almost impossible to find a video that has a good balance of both genders. We all need to see people like us becoming successful and that includes women seeing videos of successful, powerful women.
The language of “The Greatest Salesman in the World” that has caused me to think deeply on this. I have read the word “man” too many times and “woman” very seldom and I think that just as we delete the world “will” from the text halfway through the month, if you are a woman and you want your subby to know that you can be successful too, it will help to replace the word “man” with either “person” or “woman”, whichever is applicable.
Give it a try….if it doesn’t suit don’t bother doing it again. I have a friend who is very happy with using the word “man” constantly…she has her subby well under control. For me, it’s different. I have to send the right messages to my subby and let her know that, as a woman, I can be what I will to be!

Standard

Leave a Reply

